Hello Fall!

What a crazy week of weather we had!  One day we were freezing, and the next we were sweating with the fans on…  Fall weather has definitely arrived!  We had another great week!  The children have really fallen into some great routines.  I am proud of the children for their kindness and compassion for one another.  I love how willing they are to help one another.  We have very quickly become like a little family!  Well, we were up to 14 purchased lunches on Friday!  I had my second ever purchased lunch on Friday, with another group of kiddos that was having their “first” or “second” ever lunch at school.  It has been so fun, having lunch with the kiddos!  Speaking of, we are starting a cafeteria challenge.  The children are trying to earn a golden tray, by showing bobcat behavior!  I know that they can do it!

 

Last week was a great week in Wonders!  We talked a lot about families, and how families can work together.  We read several stories, and brainstormed lots of great ideas around this topic.  We started a piece of writing around this topic, as well.  Most children started a reading group, and have been very patient while I found a “just right” place for them.  I could not be more excited about this room of readers!  There should be a big box of books coming our way, soon!  I can’t wait to share them with the children!  I know it is challenging, with crazy soccer, field hockey and so many other wonderful enrichment opportunities for the children, however, if they have a few minutes to read, each night, it will have a huge impact on their reading.

 

In math, we have finished up with Unit 1!  Wahoo!  We have worked on building foundational skills, and will continue to do that, throughout Unit 2.  The children may be talking about working with me, individually, as well.  I have been working on getting some more information on some of the kiddos.  This will just help me to focus small group instruction.

 

Friday brought another STEAM challenge!  Wowza, was this fun!  We worked more on the engineering process for this challenge.  The children watched a short movie, explaining what a catapult was, and then I showed them a short video of a young boy creating a catapult.  I only showed the video to them once, so I was incredibly impressed with how well the children were able to successfully create a catapult, without a step-by-step tutorial.  It was so much fun watching them launch their catapults!  I hope some of them completed some of their challenges over the weekend.

  

video: 906EFD67-25B5-4009-914D-2CCF61AEC43C-1msfx6g

video:  2663795B-9D1C-4DF5-8A80-CFD99C8540C9-242yupm3F09043A-D164-4012-9AD8-A8B67B4F444E-2d77hc2

video:  429BCDBF-944B-43D1-8694-925477CB4FC9-1kfphoe

Video: A4155735-3B4D-4366-99AA-5C617CE535E2-2gn3wcj

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *